Hansel Retro Spec

March 24, 2010 at 10:30 am | Posted in Miss G: Fashion | 6 Comments
Tags: , , ,

To be frank, I am hardly familiar with local fashion because I usually buy my clothes online, or from UK/US brands. Admittedly, with all the convenience of online shopping, I get too lazy to scout for new brands or check out local designs and their stores.

In the recent years, the paradigm has changed and there are more and more opportunities and platforms for local designers. An increasing number of designers are getting recognised and their styles have evolved to become more varied and exciting. So, if you are like me who have been too lazy to shop new stores, it’s time to pay attention to these designers and their offerings!

Hansel, the brain child of local designer Jo Soh, opened their first dedicated store at Stamford House and I had a chance to check it out with Dottie.

There was a time-line exhibit with Jo’s designs over the years and her drawings.

As you can tell, the designs over the years have evolved, but the quirky element has been pretty consistent. I love the printed blazer (ok, me and printed blazer again) from “Criss Cross Boy Loves Plain Jane” series.

Located at Stamford House, I think everyone should pop by to just take a look at her works. The fashion time-line is such a cute idea that it almost felt like going to an exhibition!  In fact, I spent most of my time staring at the clothes on the wall and reading the pictures and cute text.

In terms of clothes size, most of the pieces are size 0, 1 and 2. Size 2 is almost equivalent to US 8 and UK 10. Price range is  at about $229 – 299 for a dress and above $100 for a top.

Guests were given a Retro Spec cut-out. Here’s our interpretation on how to wear the Retro Specs.

The hansel Shop
#01-02 Stamford House
39 Stamford Road
Opening hours:
Mon-Sat: 11.30am – 8.30pm
Sun: 12pm – 6pm

Technorati Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Bookmark and Share

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I wanted so much to get some of the dresses on the wall! But cannot 😦 Hahahaha!

    • Hey Esther, you have a nice blog too! 🙂 Yah man, I wanted to own that printed blazer….

  2. cute. can wear as brooch or loop two strips of rope or fabric to make a belt.

    custom-make your own printed blazer, glitzy?

    • great idea man! i really should start scouting for tailors/fabric/other printed blazers!

  3. I like the swirly dress on the wall – how retro! Also liked the glasses necklace!

  4. By the way if anyone knows any tailors to custom make let me know – I bought some fabric yesterday from People’s Park and need to get some clothes made! (can’t sew to save my life)…


Leave a Reply

Entries and comments feeds.